top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan

Blog 3

In Shitty First Drafts by Anne Lamont, Lamont portrays professional writers as if they are just anyone else trying to write a book. She makes it seem like authors don't even enjoy writing when she quotes a fellow writer that said "it's not like you don't have a choice, because you do -- you can either type, or kill yourself." Another line that stood out to me was "We all often feel like we are pulling teeth out..." These lines stood out to me particularly because that's exactly how I feel when I have to write sometimes, especially topics I don't care to write about. I might rather kill myself than type about something I don't know where to start. When she finally gets past the introduction, she begins to name types of draft. Your first one is obviously the shittiest so she calls it the "Child's draft" where you just write whatever comes to mind knowing nobody will ever see it but there may be that one thing that you really like that you can build off. You might ramble so much in this draft that it ends up twice as long as it was supposed to be, but no matter what, there I likely a couple words in there that you can based your whole second draft off of. I feel like this piece of text is very relatable to people, especially myself. I usually write my first drafts a lot longer than they are required to be and a lot of stuff gets deleted in my second and third drafts, but there is almost those couple sentences that I really like that just give me more and more ideas.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 11

Viral marketing is a technique that has become very popular and common with the increase of technologies and social medias such as Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram. Viral marketing has become more po

Mini Presentation

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGqdIPer-ms This video is a music video from the song Walk It Talk It by Migos. The interesting thing about this song is that it appears to take place on a game show

Blog 10

For my blog 10 I decided to reflect on what my conference with Mat was about. He read my essay and asked if I had any particular questions and all I answered with was i wanted to make sure that I was

bottom of page