top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan

Blog 1

I really liked how the chapter opened up. The idea that genres are constantly changing due to the way people used them created a new and more interesting perspective for myself. I remember when I was younger, I would write things in a journal that I had, whether it was goals I had, people I didn't like, or whatever happened in my day. Today, as social media has grown, I use Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat as most of my pieces of genre. Whether it is posting on my story what I am doing, a cool and memorable picture that I put on my Instagram, or a lyric, saying, or previous tweet that I find and post on my own page. The way that genre's have changed overtime whether it is social media or people using the internet to read the news rather than newspapers, texting people rather than mailing letters or emailing. So many genres have changed today than before. A second thing about genres that I learned in this chapter was how flexible genres are. Every piece of genre has its own purpose and audience that it is targeting. Whether its a song trying to target teenagers, whether you have a comedy movie targeting children under the age of 13 or a movie targeting adults only. The purpose of the genre is a key component. You can emphasize the purpose by using rhetorical appeals. For example, you may make a piece of genre to get an emotional reaction from people, this would be created by the use of pathos. The use of genre's also have many different styles such as what I mentioned above, authors aim to make their genre funny or maybe sad. After reading this chapter, I'm looking forward to learning more about genre's and using them in my projects throughout the year.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 11

Viral marketing is a technique that has become very popular and common with the increase of technologies and social medias such as Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram. Viral marketing has become more po

Mini Presentation

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGqdIPer-ms This video is a music video from the song Walk It Talk It by Migos. The interesting thing about this song is that it appears to take place on a game show

Blog 10

For my blog 10 I decided to reflect on what my conference with Mat was about. He read my essay and asked if I had any particular questions and all I answered with was i wanted to make sure that I was

bottom of page