top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrendan

Blog 2

When I first started reading this, my first thought was "How am i supposed to relate to Miss America." After reading, I can surprisingly relate a lot to Roxane Gay. Like her, I always wanted to be friends with the popular kids but I didn't have the freedom that they all did. My parents didn't allow me to go to parties in middle school so on Monday's, all the popular kids would talk about the parties that they went to and i couldn't relate. I wasn't on the same social status as they were. I've never been the most social kid. When I'm around people that i don't know, I'm one of the most silent people in the room, but when I'm with people i know and I'm comfortable with, I'm very outgoing and social, and kind of weird. Like Roxane, I had my own get-a-way. While she would read Sweet Valley High books, whereas i wasn't much of a reader, would use sports as my get-a-way. No matter my social status, when it came to any sport I was always one of the first picks so i used my athleticism as a way to "shine." Just like Roxane would felt like she had a perfect life and a way to feel popular in the Sweet Valley High books, I felt like the center of attention when in came to P.E. Everyone has their own get-a-way, even the popular kids. i learned that when i got to high school and all the kids i wanted to be friends with became my best friends. Once I finally felt on top of the school, I still had my own get-a-way. Relating my story to Gay's just showed me that no matter who you are, popular or not, you need your own world where you can be "Miss America."

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 11

Viral marketing is a technique that has become very popular and common with the increase of technologies and social medias such as Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram. Viral marketing has become more po

Mini Presentation

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGqdIPer-ms This video is a music video from the song Walk It Talk It by Migos. The interesting thing about this song is that it appears to take place on a game show

Blog 10

For my blog 10 I decided to reflect on what my conference with Mat was about. He read my essay and asked if I had any particular questions and all I answered with was i wanted to make sure that I was

bottom of page